You’ll Never Blog Alone

by OWAIN GLYN EVANS

Hiya.

Blogging is something that I have never thought of doing. In fact, blogging is something that I have openly mocked my friends for doing, albeit in friendly jest. I’ll be honest, I’m still not sure if I actually want to begin blogging or not. What has always held me back from writing my own blog is that I have never seen the point: Would anyone like it? Would it be praised or scathed? Or perhaps most importantly: Would anyone ever read it?  After all, if something is written, it must be read, right?

Wrong.

The only reason I have decided to instigate this blog is that I want to be a writer. I want to write ‘stuff’, and whether this blog is enthusiastically read, callously ignored or curiously glimpsed upon, simply does not matter. This is practice. The more I write on here, the better I’ll become in general, surely? My doubt in this theory is still evident through the use of the ‘?’ rather than a ‘!’ at the end of that last sentence but we shall see.

As for what I’ll write about, I don’t know. Perhaps I’ll write about my generic life in a detailed manner; my friends, my family, my house, my degree, my past, my future, my opinions, my problems, my solutions.

Or maybe, I’ll just write about football…

Whatever I end up writing about, I have a feeling that words such as ‘I’, ‘me’ and ‘my’ will be used incredibly ubiquitously. This is the blog of the world’s most selfish man after all.

Maybe I’ll leave it here for my first blog, it is ‘okay’.

Nice anti-climax there.

